The Thinking Chair

Published on

Dance Film Project

This piece was inspired by me making a really huge transition these past couple months. I really wanted the film to show how chaotic and busy my life has been for the past few weeks. I usually have a tough time with transitions small or big, and these past few weeks have been tough. So many new routines, places , pedagogy, and perspectives. Creating a space where I could thrive creatively, intuitively, and freely is always important to me when picking a new home. I love design , and how you can move different pieces of furniture around to create different atmospheres.

I moved into a new apartment recently which is why there is so much stuff in the background; but this was an artistic choice to keep the stuff back there. The opacity is played with in order to represent transparency within myself. Sometimes transitions can be messy, scary, unexpected but they teach us to appreciate where we are in the moment. I used a original piece of music that I created I wanted something that felt a little more communal for this piece. My cat;Basquiat is my best friend, and he acts as emotional support and also just props for the video.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started